EVENT 1 – 28/29 MAY 2022


Session 1.1 09h30 – 10h00Ro-buki & Tips/Technique – Shiori Tanabe
Session 1.2 10h15 – 11h30Mine no Tsuki (Tozan-ryū) – Shiori Tanabe
Session 1.311h45 – 13h00Shika no Tone (solo-version / KSK) – Horacio Curti
Session 1.4 14h00 — 14h30Kodo lineage (Talk/Presentation) – Araki Kodo VI
Session 1.5 14h45 — 16h00Tsuki no Kyoku (Kodō-kai/Kinko-ryū) – Araki Kodo VI
Times are in Central European Summer Time (CEST)


Session 2.109h30 – 10h00Ro-buki & Irish Tune – Philip Horan
Session 2.210h15 – 11h30Kari (modern) – Shiori Tanabe
Session 2.311h45 – 13h00Ōshū Nagashi (Chikuho-ryū) – Nina Haarer
Session 2.414h00 — 14h30Tips/Technique – Araki Kodo VI
Session 2.514h45 — 16h00Dōkyō (Kodō-kai/Kinko-ryū) – Araki Kodo VI
Times are in Central European Summer Time (CEST)

About the pieces

Tsuki no Kyoku (月の曲) was composed by Araki Chikuō (Kodō II) in roughly 1907. Originally conceived as part of a suite of music, along with Yuki no Kyoku and Hana no Kyoku. These were to be composed at his new residence overlooking the Sumida River but sadly he passed having written only a few short lines of “Yuki” and “Hana.” In fact, Tsuki no Kyoku was somewhat incomplete at the time of his death and it was his grandson, Araki Kodō IV who added the final touches. [elementary/intermediate]

Dōkyō (銅鏡) is a composition of Araki Chikuō II (Kodō V). Written in 1986 under the name Hankyō or, Reverberation, the name was changed to honor his mother after her passing with the title referring to an antique copper mirror that belonged to her. [intermediate/advanced]

Mine no Tsuki (峰の月) This is a piece of modern honkyoku from the Tozan-ryū, composed for shakuhachi by Nakao Tozan in 1946. [elementary/intermediate]

Kari ( 雁 ) was composed by Yamamoto Hozan in 1968. The piece was inspired by the sight of kari – migratory wild geese – flying in order to seek cold weather, which inspired Yamamoto to express the journey of life. The birds’ cries and the flapping of wings are expressed by iki yuri (breath vibrato). Usually performed on a 1.6 shakuhachi (i.e. audio reference file), but teaching will be with the standard 1.8 shakuhachi. [intermediate/advanced]

Shika no Tone (鹿の遠音) is one of the most legendary honkyoku pieces. It describes a scene in deep autumn when the voice of the male deer calls for his female deer mates. It is a rare shakuhachi duo piece within the honkyoku repertoire. Yet, solo versions created by the performer him/herself from the duo version can be heard on various occasions. In this session, the strategy to build such a solo version in the style of Yokoyama Katsuya together with the main techniques for the piece will be presented. [elementary/intermediate]

‘Shika no tone’ is the rare shakuhachi duo piece inside honkyoku. Yet, solo versions of it can be heard on different occasions created by the performer him/herself from the duo.In this session, the strategy to build such a solo version in the style of Yokoyama Katsuya will be presented together with the main techniques for the piece.

Ōshū Nagashi (奥州流) is a classical Chikuhō honkyoku. The title means “wandering through the inner provinces” and refers to the wandering komusō. In the piece you can find melodic passages reminding of the flow of wind or water. [elementary/intermediate]

Irish Tune (The Rocky Road to Dublin) is a classic Irish Tune from the 19th century. A special addition to conjure up the spirits to guide us to the Dublin Summer School in 2023 (and leaving the “rocky” part of post-ponements behind us). [elementary/intermediate/advanced]

The programme is open to all levels (elementary/intermediate/advanced) with the sessions focusing either towards the elementary/intermediate or intermediate/advanced spectrum. Nevertheless these labels are mainly meant for general orientation and we encourage all participants to attend all sessions regardless of their level, as there is always something new to be discovered and learned.


Registered participants will receive an e-mail with the link to download the study materials (scores, audio reference files, etc..) in early May. If you have not received a link by the 8th May please contact us.

Recordings of the sessions will be available to view for registered participants for about three weeks after the event. You will receive the relevant links by email.